Giving Thanks

Reveries & Musings2

There are many things I’m giving thanks for this year. Today I’m focusing on the joy of reading and books. In February of this year, I read the book, The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe. This book spoke to me in so many ways. It was a revelation to see a family who talked books. There was some envy on my part because I didn’t really have anyone to talk books with growing up. It also reminded me that I had become lazy in my reading in the last few years. I learned about a great many books and authors and it was the beginning of the end as it was the start of what to grow to be a TBR list of over 1500 books. For those who have not read the book yet, Will tells the story of his and his mothers conversations about books, often discussed in the oncology department while his mother is being treated for cancer. As a cancer survivor myself, it was another point of connection for me. After finishing the book I had a great desire to talk about this book with someone else who had read it. When I Googled The End of You Life Book Club book clubs, I discovered Goodreads.

The book group had really dwindled down by the time I found them.  Yet there were a few diehards still there, including the author and a woman by the name of Elyse.  The two of us connected over this book but we also discovered in ourselves kindred spirits.  We’ve never met in real life but we talk frequently on the phone and some day I hope we have the chance to meet, sip coffee (me) and Tea (Elyse) and have our own mini book club.

 

weird crazy friends

Eventually, I began moving around the site and discovered some really fun groups and meeting some great people. I found a second home at The Sisterhood of the Traveling Book.  What a crazy and fun group of women (and a few men) I discovered here.  They welcomed me with open arms and coaxed and nudged until I was writing book reviews for them.

And here it is November and I’ve been writing a book blog for almost three months.  It’s been a wild ride.  I am so grateful for beginning this journey.  How wonderful is it to meet kindred souls on the way.  And to those reading this thanks for stepping on the path and walking with me thus far.  I give thanks for your company.

 

I am grateful

 

What are you giving thanks for this year?

 

2 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. rebecca bell says:

    my health, a roof over my head, and food in my belly

Leave a Reply

