Author! Author!

Madison Library built a new central library in downtown Madison. It’s a beautiful building and although I got there too late to tour the building the parts I did see were wide open and spacious. It looked like a great place to spend time browsing. For the opening they brought in the author of Me Before You, Jojo Moyes.

Madison Central Library

Madison Central Library

I have only been to one other author event which I described in another post. This one required previous registration and it was a small and intimate event. The event started with a reception. It was exciting to have a chance to talk to the author about her beautiful book which was thought-provoking and evoked such strong emotions. She was articulate and genuine while talking about what is clearly a topic close to her heart. Ms Moyes was gracious and charming to everyone who stopped to talk. She engaged with each person fully. She also stood for pictures with guests including me!

Me and Jojo

The next hour was a talk. She began by sharing how much she appreciated the library system in the United States observing that the libraries in the UK were losing funding. While she talked about her own experiences as a child going to the library, I reminisced about my own. Growing up in a bigger city we had bookmobiles that came around the different neighborhoods. Oh how I loved that special day each week when it came to our local park.

Jojo shared her entry into writing and her early rejections. It was wonderful to hear her share her delight in the success of Me Before You which she attributes to word of mouth. We did get to hear her read a short passage from her new book The Girl You Left Behind and then she took questions from the audience for the remaining half hour. It was during her talk I discovered that Me Before You has been optioned for a movie and she wrote the script. If it goes into production it will begin next year.  The one stipulation she did get was that they would not change the ending. I asked Jojo if she had any actors in mind.  She had said that she didn’t have any say in the casting.  Who would you want to play Will and Lou?

signing books2

After her presentation she stayed and autographed books.  I was amazed at the number of people who did not stay to have their books autographed.  Jojo signed three books for me and also autographed two books for me to give away on this blog.  That’s right, I have two books Me Before You and Windfallen to give away to two lucky people.

 

 

auto books

Books autographed by Jojo Moyes

Would you like to win an autographed copy of Me Before You or Windfallen?

 

 

 

Just leave you name, email address and a comment in the form below, it’s that simple. No need to purchase anything.

If you’d like extra entries receive one for doing each of the following:

  • Follow my blog – leave the name you are using to follow me.
  • Follow me on Facebook – leave the Facebook name you are using to follow me.
  • Tweet about my give-away, Leave a link you your tweet.

You must be 18 or older to enter.  This give-away is open to US residents only.

This give-away will end at midnight CST on October 18, 2013.  Winners will be notified by email.  Winners will be required to send their mailing address within 48 hours or another winner will be chosen.

All information obtained through this contest will be destroyed at the end of the give-away and when the winners have been verified.

2 thoughts on “Author! Author!

  1. Jen says:

    I love that picture of the library sign!!

  2. Thanks. So do I. I’m really glad I was able to use it here.

Leave a Reply

