For the love of books

“I still love the book-ness of books, the smell of books: I am a book fetishist – books to me are the coolest and sexiest and the most wonderful things there are.” ~Neil Gaiman

I love quotes. You can probably tell that from my about page. So I use them a lot. There’s something about finding someone who thinks like you do but just writes so much better. Thank goodness for authors.

I Have a love of books. I own a Nook tablet and I have a lot of books on there – both in Nook and Kindle format. I’m an equal opportunity e-book purchaser. But I have found that if I read a few e-books I start getting twitchy. My palms start to itch, my stomach gets little flutters, my hands start to have this empty feeling and I know I’m in withdrawal. I need to read a real book. One with pages made from trees and ink.

There is a wonderful convenience to having an e-reader. Stick it in your purse and you have 200 books to choose from. But there is nothing like having book shelves full of books; all different colors and shapes. And when I run out of shelf space, the piles of books run throughout my home. I love the look of them but it’s the feel of them that really gets me going. What is it about physically turning a page that brings a sense of accomplishment? It’s just not the same swiping my finger across the screen.

Will Schwalbe tells us in his wonderful book, The End of Your Life Book Club, “One of the many things I love about bound books is their sheer physicality. Electronic books live out of sight and out of mind. But printed books have body and presence. ….I often seek electronic books, but they never come after me. They may make me feel, but I can’t feel them. They are all soul with no flesh, no texture, and no weight.” And he’s right. When I walk into a room with books in it, my eyes will begin the search for titles and authors. And often I’ll see a book that I have forgotten that I own and I’ll feel a sense of anticipation of meeting a new friend or a feeling of delight that I an old friend are about to spend some time together again getting reacquainted.

How do you feel about books? Do you have a preference for format or doesn’t it matter?

4 thoughts on “For the love of books

  1. Jen says:

    Wonderfully said Karen!! I love the convenience of my Kindle, but there is still nothing like holding a book in my hands!

  2. ladykaren330 says:

    Thanks Jen. I knew you would understand.

  3. Beautiful Blog. I am stopping by from the post made my Damien. Saw your URL there.

    Going to follow you via e-mail.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  4. ladykaren330 says:

    Thank you Elizabeth. I appreciate yoy stopping by.

Leave a Reply

