Did you ever feel like a book was asking you to be a best friend?

The End of Your Life Book ClubThe End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a beautiful tribute to a remarkable woman. Will Schwalbe writes a memoir of his time with his mother after she is diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. But the book is not about death, but about life, living fully and gracefully. I’ve never read a book in which I encountered so many thoughts and passages that I wanted to highlight because they spoke to me in a personal way. My to read book list has blossomed and I’ve been introduced to many new authors. Will makes you feel like you are part of the discussion between he and his mother and gives the reader a intimate portrait of a incredible woman. His mother touched my life and I can think of no greater tribute that her son could have given to Mary Anne than to know that she will continue to smile at strangers.

View all my reviews

Favorite quotes:

“One of the many things I love about bound books is their sheer physicality. Electronic books live out of sight and out of mind. But printed books have body, presence. … I often seek electronic books, but they never come after me. They may make me feel, but I can’t feel them. They are all soul with no flesh, no texture, and no weight.”
― Will Schwalbe, The End of Your Life Book Club

“We’re all in the end-of-your-life book-club, whether we acknowledge it or not; each book we read may well be the last, each conversation the final one.”
― Will Schwalbe, The End of Your Life Book Club

Leave a Reply

