Book Chic or Book Geek

I’m a book nerd. There is no doubt about it. I’m a groupie. Not that I’ve met that many authors. But given the chance, I’m going to do my best to get authographs. Usually, my best chance is to get authors who’ve written books in my field. Let’s face it, not a lot of mental health workers are standing in line with their copy of Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness, in hand for Jon Kabat-Zinn to sign. So I have my collection of signed “work books” that I’m very cautious about loaning to my co-workers.

I only have one non-work author autograph and it is a prize. A few years back I went to see David Sedaris in Madison. To quote Frankie Valli, “Oh what a night.” David Sedaris is the kind of person who is genuine and he just seems like he would be a great best friend. I even sent him a fan letter. Yes, I’m blushing right now. So how excited was I that I got a typewritten letter back. Not a printed letter off a computer, but a typewritten letter just like David Sedaris talks about in his stories. Okay, now I know I’ve gone over the edge. Still here is the evidence. My David Sedaris shadow box with the book he autographed and the letter he sent me.

David Sedaris Shrine

David Sedaris Shrine

No, he has not taken a restraining order out on me…yet. He’s coming back to Madison and I have tickets.

However, I now have the opportunity to stalk meet other authors. Kathleen Kent author of The Heretic’s Daughter is coming to the Edgerton Book fair at the end of the month. Jojo Moyes author of Me Before You and The Girl Left Behind will be at the Madison Library in a few weeks. Ruth Ozeki author of A Tale for the Time Being is coming to the university in Madison in October. Oh and did I mention that David Sedaris author of Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls, is coming back to Madison? Oh the luscious author joy.

Of course this now means I need to read all of these books because I can’t possibly try to meet these authors and not have a cogent thought or comment to make. So my reading plan for the next month has taken a sharp turn to the left. In order, I will be reading The Heretic’s Daughter, Me Before You and A tale for the Time Being. I already own all these books so I’ll be prepared to get autographs. I’ll also be reading the book chosen by my lovely readers in the poll in my Contemplating August post. The winner is… The Wife, The Maid, and The Mistress by Ariel Lawhon.

I’ll be posting pictures of autographs and if lucky enough authors as they become available. Wish me luck!

A Geek in Chic’s clothing,

Karen

11 thoughts on “Book Chic or Book Geek

  1. I just looked up David Sedaris tour schedule. He is coming to Milwaukee’s Pabst Theater in November. How cool is that. I haven’t seen many authors coming to my area this year that I’ve been interested in seeing. So this will be a treat. If someone really good was coming to Madison and it was convenient I could be tempted…

  2. ladykaren330 says:

    David Sedaris is hilarious. As for really good I guess it depends on your definition. I do a lot of searching for authors and keep and eye out. WIsconsin Book festival is a 4 days of activities with a variety of authors. There’s also a festival in Wuakesha which would probably be closer for you.Google SOutheast Festival of Books. That’s coming up Sept 20th.

  3. Marika says:

    I haven’t picked up a David Sedaris book in ages, thanks for reminding me how cool he is. Btw, from one book geek to another…I salute you :)

  4. ladykaren330 says:

    David is very cool. Thanks for stopping by. We book geeks have to stick together.

  5. I haven’t read any David Sedaris novels yet but I’d like to. I have a couple autographs, I met Diane Chamberlain one day, she said she’d send me her book, she did and it was signed! I have won a couple other autographed books in giveaways that I absolutely treasure! Stopping by from G+ Book Bloggers do it better community, welcome to the book blogging community!

  6. ladykaren330 says:

    Thanks for stopping by Tanya. If I could make one recommendation it would be to get David’s books on CD and listen to them. He’s reading of his essay’s just adds to the humor. Thanks for all your support.

  7. Zed says:

    Oh wow, a typewritten letter? That’s awesome!

  8. ladykaren330 says:

    It is isn’t it. It’s a real prize. I really couldn’t believe it when I got a letter with a return address that said. David Sedaris. I think I squealed. LOL

  9. Beautiful blog…I love your quote the top.

    THANKS for stopping by my blog earlier and commenting on my Book Beginnings.

    I just followed by e-mail so I don’t miss anything here. :)

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Book Beginnings

  10. ladykaren330 says:

    Thanks ELizabeth. I appreciate your visit and kind words. I followed your blog as well so I’m up to date on your posts.

  11. […] year is David Sedaris.  I’ll be seeing him this coming Monday.  Some of you may remember I have a bit of a crush on David.  I’ll try not to make much of a idiot of myself but I can make no […]

Leave a Reply

